Passports: To enter South Africa, a passport valid for at least 30 days after the intended date of departure is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above. Passports must have at least two blank pages for entry stamps. Passport note: Yellow fever certificates are required if the journey starts from or passes through a country with yellow fever. FREE Pocket Guide (download & print) Visas: Visas for South Africa are not required by nationals referred to in the chart above for stays of up to 90 days except: • Nationals of Cyprus, Hungary and Poland, who may stay visa-free for up to 30 days. • Nationals of (1) Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia, who do require a visa. Nationals not referred to in the chart above are advised to contact the embassy/high commission for visa requirements. Visa note: The Department of Home Affairs website ( has comprehensive details on visa requirements and exemptions and the relevant forms for downloading. If you are one of the few travellers subject to visa requirements, you should apply for your visa before you intend to travel. No visas are issued at South African points of entry. If you arrive without the necessary paperwork, immigration officials are obliged to refuse you entry.